Regional Transportation Authority


Regional Transportation Authority Profile created as a special-purpose government agency by referendum, the Regional Transportation Authority began operations January 1986 to provide quality and affordable accessible public transportation for unincorporated Nueces County, Bishop, Corpus Christi, Driscoll, Gregory, Banquete, Agua Dulce, San Patricio City, Port Aransas and Robstown. In addition to fixed-route bus services, RTA provides commuter service to employees of the Corpus Christi Army Depot and other area federal agencies, operates the Corpus Christi Harbor Ferry under contract, assists citizens in creating vanpools and rideshare programs, and provides demand-response, door-to-door service for qualified individuals with disabilities. Source and expenditures of RTA revenues fall into two budges categories: operating and capital. Operating revenues are derived from sales tax and system user receipts. Funding for capital projects is in part supported by federal grants (80 percent) and local government funds (20 percent). Area funding is provided by one-half-cent sales tax. The RTA employs approximately 190 persons directly and 95 contract personnel. In addition to its board of directors, the RTA is accountable to the Federal Transit Administration, the Texas Department of Transportation and the taxpayers of the operating region.


Administrative Operations Facility
5658 Bear Ln.
Corpus Christi, TX 78405
Work: 361-289-2712
Fax: 361-289-0605

RTA Customer Service
1806 Alameda
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
Work: 361-883-2287
Fax: 361-883-9938

RTA Rideline 24-Hour Automated Service
Work: 361-289-2600
TDD:: 361-883-3808

B-Line Paratransit Service
6018 Bear Lane
Corpus Christi, TX 78405
Work: 361-289-5881
Fax: 361-289-1820

Board of Directors

Board Chairman
Lamont Taylor

Board Vice Chairman
Vangie Chapa
City of Corpus Christi Appointee

Board Secretary
Angie Flores
Nueces County Appointee

Board Advisory Member
Crystal Lyons

Mary Salenz
City of Corpus Christi Appointee

Gil Hernandez
Nueces County Appointee

Tony Elizondo
City of Corpus Christi Appointee

John Longoria
City of Corpus Christi Appointee

George Clower
City of Corpus Christi Appointee

Ray Hunt
Small City Mayors’ Committee Appointee

Robert Garcia Martinez
Small City Mayors’ Committee Appointee


Chief Executive Officer
Scott Neely

Managing Director of Administration
Jorge Cruz-Aedo

Director of Finance
Susan Vinson

Director of Planning
Carl Weckenmann

Managing Director of Program Development
Sharon Montez

Director of Purchased Transportation
Terry Klinger

Director of Operations
Rosa Villarreal

Director of Maintenance
Jose Tovar

Director of Procurement
Robert Saldana

Top of Page